Thomas Joos | mobile application developer

(re)create your thoughts and expand your limits.

FITC Amsterdam: COOL SHIT!

with 3 comments

FITC Amsterdam

The FITC event in Amsterdam last weekend really was amazing. I met lots of interesting people, saw some wicked sessions and had a great time at the parties afterwards. I also got very positive feedback on the mobile application. Mark Doherty ( a member of the adobe Mobile Team ) told me he was very excited about it and that everybody from the mobile team got an email with the application included. Definately cool shit. I also had the chance to meet with Shawn Pucknell, the founder of FITC, in real life in stead of sending mails like we did before the event. He said he noticed that the application was cool and handy and that we could conclude it was a succes. That’s why he asked me to make one for FITC Toronto as well ! I’m really looking forward making this application and I hope it will be as good (or even better) as the Amsterdam edition :)

I also met the guys from Boulevart, where I’m going to do my internship and it was a blast. They were very excited about the mobile schedule and they are really looking forward to start the internship. I’m going to join Wim in the Flash Team and I get some time to work out the Toronto application!

But for now, let’s focus on my last school project I have to finish before the internship begins. We got four weeks to study some things we did not handled in the courses and next week we need to present what we have created and learned.

I started an mp3 desktop player called ‘Interlude’ made in FLEX 3 and AIR. Soon I’ll Release a Beta version so you guys can check it out. You can manage your library and the application has some smart playlist generation. Via Last fm the player checks out which of the similar artists you have in your library and you can mix your playlist up. You can also attach a personal mood to every mp3 you import. So let’s say you like to listen to Radiohead when you are coding, you can just attach a mood called ”coding” or something. So when you are in the mood for some coding music you can let the player make a playlist with all of your personal coding music! More info following later.

I’d like to thank the guys from boulevart for the feedback and support, The people of FITC ( especially shawn pucknell ) for giving me this great oppurtunity. I’d also like to thank Aral Balkan for his blogpost so the application got a bit more in the spotlight and my student collegues (andy, dimi, dietlev, freek, joren and pieter) for the lovely time we had!

Written by vilebody

February 29, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Posted in FITC, Flash Lite

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on the next assignment!
    I had a great time aswell, see you on FOTB :)

    dietlev

    February 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

  2. Jammer dat ik je niet heb ontmoet in Amsterdam, maar kom je ook naar Toronto toe? Ik wou even kijken of er ook BlackBerry support voor je applicatie komt. Ik zat te kijken samen met Shawn voordat we weg gingen want David Girolami en ik hebben bijde een BlackBerry 8830 World Edition, en we konde het schema bijde niet op die van ons krijgen. Helaas… maar misschien dat jij daar wel iets vanaf weet?

    Groeten uit Toronto!

    Bram Timmer

    March 9, 2008 at 5:01 am

  3. @Bram: Ik kom ook naar toronto normaal gezien dus dat zou moeten lukken om je daar eens tegen het lijf te lopen ;)

    ik weet eigenlijk niet goed hoe het zit met blackberry en flash lite maar ik zal het eens onderhoren en je op de hoogte brengen :)

    groeten uit België

    vilebody

    March 9, 2008 at 11:00 am


Leave a Reply

