Thomas Joos | mobile application developer

(re)create your thoughts and expand your limits.

FITC Amsterdam09 – Optimizing your Flash Lite content

with 4 comments

After the sold out success of FITC Amsterdam 2008 they’re back! FITC will treat Amsterdam with another cool conference in february 09. The first speakers are already confirmed on the website and I am proud to announce I will be one of them. My session is called ” optimizing your Flash Lite content ” and is focussing on tips and tricks in order push beyond the boundaries of a mobile device, in stead of giving up on it.

Everybody agrees mobile will be the medium of the future. A modern cell phone no longer acts as only a phone. It is a multimedia device allowing you to do so much more. We are checking emails, listening to music, taking pictures. We watch and record videos, manage our personal calendar… We see more and more Rich Mobile Applications being developed using Flash Lite and this inspires other developers to get started as well. Unfortunately a lot of them still give up quickly after facing the same problem: how the hell do we get our content running smoothly on such a limited device?

In this session Thomas Joos will present a series of best practices in order to optimize your Flash Lite content. From how to streamline memory management and cpu performance to optimizing a mobile interface, Thomas will provide explanation and code examples that will assist you in getting started with Flash Lite and learn how to push beyond the boundaries of a mobile device in stead of giving up on it.

It’s amazing how fast things develop, last year I attended FITC Amsterdam08 as a multimedia student together with some class mates. It was a blast and we had a lot of fun, got to know people, got inspired and learned a lot. This year I am doing a session myself and I would like to use this occasion to thank everyone who invested in my learning process for the past year. My multimedia teachers Koen De Wegheleire & Tom Vandezande, who introduced me to Boulevart and assured them I had the right profile to do my internship there. Of course Boulevart itself, giving me the opportunity to specialize in Flash Lite development. My colleagues Wim Vanhenden & Raf Vervink who were always willing to help or assist me with all the actionscript 2 issues I had. And at last, maybe a bit cliché but definately worth mentioning, my parents and girlfriend who supported me through my studies and the late night working, which resulted in a busy schedule and a minimal amount of free time.

Written by vilebody

November 2, 2008 at 1:13 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool!

    Scott Janousek

    November 2, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  2. Congrats! Impressive stuff :)
    Might see you there then!

    Ronny

    November 2, 2008 at 3:35 pm

  3. Good luck see you there:)

    Flashbookmarks

    November 3, 2008 at 12:49 pm

  4. […] be doing a session on Flash Lite optimization and I seem to be facing some tough competition with Serge Jesper’s Flash Catalyst session. […]


Leave a Reply

